Det här är en gammal arkiverad spelning

Santiago Bolio

Krzysztof Penderecki (PL)

Krzysztof Penderecki (born November 23, 1933 in Dębica) is a Polish composer and conductor. His 1960 avant-garde Threnody to the Victims of Hiroshima for string orchestra brought him to international attention, and this success was followed by acclaim for his choral St. Luke Passion. Both these works exhibit novel compositional techniques. Since the 1970s Penderecki's style has changed to encompass a post-Romantic idiom.

He has won prestigious awards including Grammy Awards in 1987 and 1998 and 2001, and the Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition in 1992.

As well as the works already mentioned, his compositions include four operas, eight symphonies and other orchestral pieces, a variety of instrumental concertos, ch...

Läs mer

Sofia Gubaidulina

Sofia Asgatovna Gubaidulina, (Russian София Асгатовна Губайдулина) (born 24 October 1931) is a Russian-Tatar composer.

Gubaidulina was born in Chistopol, in the Tatar Republic. She studied composition and piano at the Kazan Conservatory, graduating in 1954. In Moscow she undertook further studies at the Conservatory with Nikolay Peyko until 1959, and then with Shebalin until 1963.

During her studies in Soviet Russia, her music was labeled "irresponsible" for its exploration of alternate tunings. She was supported, however, by Dmitri Shostakovich, who in evaluating her final examination encouraged her to continue down her "mistaken path".

In the mid-1970s Gubaidulina founded Astreja, a folk-instrument impr...

Läs mer

Bent Sørensen

Bent Sørensen (born July 18, 1958) is a Danish composer.

Sørensen studied composition with Ib Nørholm at the Royal Danish Academy of Music and with Per Nørgård at the Jutland Music Academy.

Sørensen's mature works create a sense of decay that is emotionally similar to viewing an aging visual artwork. There is a sense of compromised beauty. Sørensen achieves this by treating major/minor tonalities with microtonal inflections and blurring the harmonies with glissandi. Examples of this technique can be found in his trombone concerto "Birds and Bells", a work for orchestra and choir "Echoing Garden", and his violin concerto "Sterbende Gärten", which took the prestigious Nordic Music Prize in 1996. His early works deal ...

Läs mer

Niels Rosing-schow

Niels Rosing-Schow, born 1954 in Copenhagen, studied musicology at the University of Copenhagen from 1972 to 1979. In 1984 he passed the diploma examination in music history and music theory at the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Copenhagen, where he now teaches theory classes and composition. From 1984 to 1987 he studied composition with Ib Nørholm, and afterwards in France in 1987.

A marked sense of lyrical expression has always been a characteristic of Niels Rosing-Schow, but in the later years he has combined this with an experimental exploration of the more dramatic and expansive possibilities of his musical material. Niels Rosing-Schow has composed works commissioned by among others The Copenhagen Philharmonic, The Oden...

Läs mer

Uros Rojko (NL)